Another early start to the day and we were the only visitors to the Spanish Steps apart from a "Roman" offering to take pictures for us. Ah no thanks. The tower at the top was covered over for renovations which apparently is being sponsored by Bvlgari as the Government wont pay for it, hence the enormous banner plastered across the front. It was definitely the well heeled end of town with all the fancy labels and hotels all around. I've never seen them all together like that before. The steps were lovely. Got to love a bit of travertine. Next stop, the Borghese Gardens and Gallery. Wow! What a Gallery. They give away 20 free passes each day, but you need to be there before the crowd, which we were, but sadly we only managed to get 2 tickets. So Catherine and I were the lucky ones, and the others headed off for a walk around the gardens and to have a coffee, which turned into a beer at 9 AM. Good one boys. Sandra left them in search of the Spanish Steps and the kids played in the park while they waited. The Gallery was gobsmacking. The wealth. The paintings. The marble. The statutes. It was brain overload and just divine. Sadly the private gardens were closed (I think they always are), but we got a visual from the second story and I felt very inspired to "create" in my garden when we get home. Catherine said it made her feel like painting too. We reunited and headed off in search of a street food market on what I thought was "Corso di Fiori". Off course it went pair shaped and we walked around in circles but it was via the Spanish Steps again which was packed and then along the fancy streets past the gorgeous shops, so there was no complaining. We ended up back on Corso Del Fiori, and gave up the search, instead heading up toward Palazzo Del Pollopo which was just amazing and huge and busy and hot. Everyone was pretty exhausted by then, so we opted for a taxi back to Travestere yet again for another lunch time feast, this time at La Porchetta, the pork and prosciutto place we had seen the day before. The beer and the wine were cold and it had air conditioning so everyone was happy. It was a great little find and we recharged ready for the next walk in the heat in search of a gelato at Piazza Navonne. As it turned out, we stumbled across "Campo di Fiori",which happened to host the food market that we had been looking for earlier in the day. We bought the kids some sunglasses and a hat for zachie. Tony made friends with the vendors of the Limoncello stand after a few tastings and the kids squirted themselves and some patrons at a restaurant with water pistols that a waiter from that restaurant had given them. It was all very family friendly and just as you imagine Italy to be (apart from the heat). On to Piazza Navonne, which was just all too hot to really appreciate. I imagine it would be gorgeous at night when everything was cool and the kids could run around, while the parents relax and indulge in the restaurants. Its a perfect spot for people watching. A round of gelato cooled everyone down and it was time to grab a taxi and seek refugee back at the Garbin's fancy hotel for a swim. Dinner was ok. Tiredness had set in and it was more about getting it done than enjoying and settling in. Time for bed to rest up for a big day tomorrow at the much anticipated Colosseum. I can't wait.

























No comments:
Post a Comment