Wednesday, 15 July 2015

Day 14: Gaiole in Chianti

Back to reality this morning with a massive pile of ironing.   It feels good to be organised and ready for the next week without a washing machine.  I was happy to farewell Sienna.  I needed a fix of greenery and open space.  The descent back to the carpark was seamless and pretty quick. The trauma of our arrival seemed so long ago and unnecessary.  Was I just being a drama queen?  Our parking was 75 Euro in the end after the owner of Catherine and Marks villa happily helped us out with a special stamp for those in the know.  Clearly our host had no idea.  He also was giving our number plate to the carabineri so hopefully we won’t get a fine for entering the town walls.   On to Gaiole in Chianti with a stop at the impressive Brolio Castle built in 1000AD.  It was owned by the same family (Ricasoli) on and off from 1141.  Bettino Ricasoli was the last to live here in 1880 and was very influential in developing viticulture in the area and basically founded Chianti Classico  made from Sangiovese grapes, that we happily sampled later in the day….and night.  The castle is closed to the public as a family still live in it, but the gardens were lovely.  The view was magnificent but sadly the heat was stifling, 38 degrees and climbing.  We opted for some respite over lunch in the restaurant near the winery.  It was divine.  The kids played some soccer on the first patch of grass that we have seen in 2 weeks, and we sat and enjoyed a few bottles of rose’. We dined on beautiful roast pork with crackling, duck and veal cheeks.  Not a plate of pizza or pasta in sight, except for the kids, who have pretty much had pasta every day since we arrived.  They have stopped complaining about it, poor darlings.  On to the cellar door for some much enjoyed sampling.  I was rocking by the time we left in search of our accommodation.  Gaiole in Chianti is tiny and sleepy and I don’t imagine much has changed here in centuries.  Our accommodation is great and has air conditioning units in every room.  Finally!  The host couldn’t speak any English, and made no attempt to either, so I had to decipher what the hell she was saying on the comprehensive tour around the complex.  Rick stayed in the car, so he was no help.  There were lots of “Si, si, si’s” coming out of my mouth, and she just kept on speaking at a pace like I was fluent in Italian.  Perhaps I am after a few wines.  I had the giggles, she had the giggles.  And then she tried to direct Rick to the carpark, and he had the giggles.  What a happy moment.  The pool is just outside our door and was so appreciated by everyone.  A quick trip into town for supplies and a gelato and then back home for an easy dinner with everyone.  The kids had hot chippies and vegies, we opted for the standard salad and beans.  Dare I say it, I am getting sick of fiore di latte.  Shocking, I didn’t think it was possible, but it has joined the list of cant do again, along with prosciutto and truffles. Perhaps I will focus on carciofi (artichokes) tomorrow.




  





 







 






No comments:

Post a Comment